"We now crown you with the sacred emblem of the deer's antlers, the emblem of your Lordship. You shall now become a mentor of the people of the Five Nations. The thickness of your skin shall be seven apans - which is to say that you shall be filled with peace and goodwill and your mind filled with the yearning for the welfare of the people of the Confederacy."

"With endless patience you shall carry out your duty, and your firmness shall be tempered with tenderness for your people. Neither anger nor fury shall lodge in your mind, and all your words and actions shall be marked with clam deliberation."

"In all your deliberations in the Council, in your efforts at lawmaking, in all your official acts, self-interest shall be cast into oblivion. Cast not away the warnings of others, if they should chide you for any error or wrong you may do, but return to the way of the Great Law, which is just and right."

"Look and listen for the welfare of the whole people and have always in view not only the present but also the coming generations, even those faces are yet beneath the surface of the earth - the unborn of the future Nation."

--Constitution of the Five Nations--
Seneca-Cayuga Logo The Seneca-Cayuga Nation is recognized by the United States Government as a sovereign nation.
It is governed by a General Council:
The members of the Business Committee serve 2 year terms with staggered elections every year.
Senneca-Cayuga Nation Constitution and By-Laws
Chief: Sarah S. Channing
Second Chief: Charlie Diebold
Secretary-Treasurer: Kim Guyett
First Coucilperson: Cynthia Donohue Bauer
Second Coucilperson: Amy Nuckolls
Third Coucilperson: Hoyit Bacon
Fourth Coucilperson: Tonya Blackfox



Nya:wëh sgë:nö’ (I'm thankfull you are well)